Heather MacRae

York University

Heather MacRae is Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science, York University (Toronto, Canada). Professor Hartung-MacRae’s research interests are Europeanization and EU gender politics, and she has published on various aspects of gender policy and gender relations in the European Union member states. Professor Hartung-MacRae’s current research addresses the unintentional (re-)construction of gender differences through European policy initiatives.


Lori Thorlakson
University of Alberta

Dr. Lori Thorlakson holds the Jean Monnet chair in the Department of Political Science and is the director of the European Union Centre of Excellence at the University of Alberta. Her research interests include party competition and democratic development in the postcommunist member states of the European Union.


Patrick Leblond

University of Ottawa

Patrick Leblond (MPhil and PhD, Columbia University) is Associate Professor in the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs at the University of Ottawa as well as Research Associate at CIRANO (Montreal). He is also Affiliated Professor of International Business at HEC Montreal and visiting professor at the World Trade Institute (Bern, Switzerland) and the University of Barcelona (IELPO LL.M. program). He is a member of Statistics Canada’s International Trade Advisory Committee and an advisor to the Canada-Europe Roundtable for Business. Dr. Leblond has published extensively on financial and monetary integration, banking regulation, international trade and business-government relations, with a particular focus on Europe and North America. Prior to moving to Ottawa, he taught international business at HEC Montreal and worked in accounting and auditing (he holds the title of Chartered Accountant) as well as in corporate finance and strategy consulting for major international accounting and consulting firms.



Ruben Zaiotti

Dalhousie University


Ruben Zaiotti is Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and director of the Jean Monnet European Union Centre for Excellence (EUCE) at Dalhousie University (Canada). He holds a PhD from the University of Toronto, a Master of Studies from the University of Oxford and a BA from the University of Bologna. His main areas of interest are international security, border control, migration policy and European Union politics. Recent publications include the monograph “Cultures of Border Control: Schengen and the Evolution of European Frontiers” with University of Chicago Press and articles for Review of International Studies, European Security, Journal of European Integration, International Journal of Refugee Law, Cultures & Conflicts. He is the former editor in chief of the Journal of International Law and International Relations.

President of the ECSA-C Young Researchers Network

Pablo Ouziel
University of Victoria

Pablo Ouziel holds a Post-Doctoral Fellowships with the Centre for Global Studies and the Department of Political Science at the University of Victoria and is a visiting professor at the Universitat Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona. Pablo’s research interests include public philosophy, collective presences, horizontality, nonviolence and civic democracy. By standing within the tradition of public philosophy, the core of his work is centred on excavating networks of individuals governing themselves in numerous ways that supersede our current structures of representative government.

Joan Debardeleben

Carleton University

Joan DeBardeleben is Chancellor’s Professor in the Department of Political Science and the Institute of European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies (EURUS) at Carleton University, where she also holds Jean Monnet Chair in the EU’s Eastern Neighbourhood Relations. She is also Director of the Centre for European Studies (Carleton’s European Union Centre of Excellence

Luybov Zhyznomirska

Saint Mary’s University

Lyubov Zhyznomirska is an assistant professor in the Department of Political Science. She completed her PhD at the University of Alberta in 2012. In 2012-13, she was a Jean Monnet Fellow at Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute, in Florence, Italy. Dr. Zhyznomirska joined Saint Mary’s University in 2013.

Valerie D’Erman

University of Victoria

Dr. D’Erman is a sessional instructor at the department of Political Science. Her work focuses on the impact of single market integration on the industrial relations of EU members and on the political economies of European welfare states, as well as on comparisons between the single market of the EU and the single markets of other large-scale federal governing entities.


The European Community Studies Association - Canada (Association d'Etudes sur la Communauté Européenne - Canada) is the leading professional association for European integration studies in Canada.

Co-funded by the

Erasmus+ Programme

of the European Union

The European Commission support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents which reflects the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsi­ble for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.

  • White Twitter Icon

© 2019 ECSA-C