top of page


Screenshot 2023-06-01 at 3.22.56 PM.png


Dr. Ann-Kathrin McLean (Royal Roads University)

My doctoral research explored the relationship between collective memory, Holocaust remembrance, and the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site in Germany. Understanding this relationship is important as we see a revival in fascist populism worldwide. I specifically focused on how Millennials engage with the memorial site, and I argue that they transfer a new form of (post)memory, namely the Zone of Transitional Memory.

I have more than ten years of experience in several tourism sectors, including accommodation, food and beverage, events, festivals and live theatre. I have been the production manager for international performing arts productions at the largest theatre festival in Europe and obtained hotel industry experience in the Middle East.  My teaching experiences include instructing at Capilano University in Vancouver, Camosun College in Victoria as well as at Royal Roads University in Victoria where I am the grateful recipient of the Kelly Outstanding Teaching Award - category new teacher.


Florent Guntz, Ph.D. candidate (University of Montreal)

I am currently a Ph.D. candidate in Political Science at the University of Montreal. Prior to this, I obtained a Master's degree in Public and International Affairs, where I was honored with the Rector's Award at the University of Montreal. During my Master's, I had the opportunity to engage in a stimulating internship at the European Roma Rights Center in Brussels.

My doctoral research extensively explores the potential evolution of the formation of European identity among citizens of the European Union. I focus on the European crises that have occurred in the past two decades, considering them as potential critical moments that have mobilized identity formation mechanisms among Europeans. My objective is to determine whether these crises have played a key role in the eventual formation of a European identity and, if so, to identify the underlying mechanisms




Ann-Kathrin McLean (Royal Roads University)

Noah Oder (McGill University)

Laurence Claussen (University of Victoria)



Johannes Müller Gomez (Université de Montréal)

Sabrina Paillé (York University)

Pablo Ouziel (University of Victoria)



Ahmed Hamila (Université de Montréal)

Board members

Shannon Dinan (Université de Montréal)

Brad Cranwell (University of Victoria)



Ahmed Hamila (Université de Montréal)

Board members

Anthony Imbrogno (McGill University)

Dunja Apostolov-Dimitijevic (Carleton University)

Harry Nedelcu (Carleton University)

bottom of page